Easter Egg Hunts from Around the World

While I was always a fan of candy, chocolate, and the Easter bunny, the thing that I remember being my favorite about the Easter holiday as a child was the Egg Hunt!  My family’s egg hunts were usually contained to the backyard and involved my cousins and me fighting over a jellybean. Little did I know that there are some amazing egg hunts around the world.

Fabergé’s Big Egg Hunt in London, UK

White House Easter Egg Roll

One of the most well known Egg Hunts in the U.S. is the Easter Egg Roll at the White House.  This 134th annual event takes place on the South Lawn and involves 35,000 eggs, games, face painting, and food from celebrity chefs.  Over 200,000 people apply to get in and only 30,000 receive tickets.

Fabergé’s  Big Egg Hunt – London

Unfortunately this event is over, but I will say that I’m already planning my trip to England for this next year.  The egg hunt is actually over a month long, beginning on February 21 and ending on April 3.  Over 200 designer eggs, each over two feet tall are hidden all over the city.  Every egg contains a code word that can be texted in and puts you in the running for the Grand Prize (which sounds so amazing, I can hardly wait to win it next year.)  The grand prize is ‘The Diamond Jubilee Egg”, estimated at £100,000.  The eggs truly are a work of art and are created by artists and fashion designers from around the world, with all money raised donated to charities.

The Great Peter Rabbit Easter Egg Hunt – Windermere, UK

This egg hunt hides 110 ceramic eggs to commemorate Peter Rabbit’s 110th birthday.  The eggs, themed after Beatrix Potter’s “The Tale of Peter Rabbit” and “The Tale of Mr. Tod” will be hidden across the Cambrian countryside and spans 2,600 square miles.

Egg Hunt at the Chateau Vaux Le Vicomte – France

A gorgeous castle outside of Paris hosts an egg hunt every Easter Sunday hiding over 35,000 eggs.  What I like most about this Egg Hunt though, other than the fact that it takes place at a castle, is that there is a scheduled egg hunt in the morning for kids and a separate one in the afternoon for adults.

Have a happy and safe weekend from all of us at Cookie Panache!

Our version of an Egg Hunt here at Cookie Panache!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.